In this post comments, the question was asked by the postwriter. I promised to write a post as an answer.

Now I will do that.

My following-history began only a couple of months ago even thought I setted up this blog a few years ago. Why?

When I first started the blog I did it as an easier alternative to build a webbsite. I needed a place on internet to show my art work. Some of my friends used WP to their blogs and I thought I give it a try.

For almost two years I wrote posts to show my art work and also wrote text about our local politics issues and showed drawings with humour comments.

After a while I notice that not only Swedish readers showed in the stats. People from all over the world had found posts on my blog.

I still didn’t get that someone outside my own country could be interested in my blog.

The first years I had readers but not many followers. I didn’t do much about it either. So that was fair stats. If you do nothing to find followers, then you don’t get followers. It’s quite simple.

Then one day I thought I should take a look around in the wp-world. I started with the bloggers how followed me. Don Charisma was a early follower. I started to like his photoposts first. Really nice pictures. Then I thought I would read some of the posts to. I did. After a while I checked the comments and find them interesting.

I started to write comments after a while and when I wanted to add something to the discussion.

Then one day DC posted about a closing down threat for HarsH ReaLiTy, Jason, A Opinonated man. That’s how I found HR, who is known as almost everybodys blogfriend. He powerblogs and share his blog tip, free for everyone to follow or not.

When I started to read and followed his blog I started to realize what blogging is about. From there I changed my ways of blogging.

 

Back to the question You seem to have a large following.

What is large following?

For me it’s 100, which I reached recently. Now I’m on my way to 200 and have reached more than halfway.

For other bloggers it might be small numbers, but I’ll take one step at the time.

Like Jason at HR use to tell us. You have to work hard and it takes lots of time to reach your goals. He is absolutely right. And right now I have time to spend on blogging enough for my following in this kind of numbers. It suits me well with this slow growing process.

Sorry my Swedish reader, I’m too lazy to write this in Swedish right now. Hope you’ll get by with this English version.

 

Anna